Tuesday, April 30, 2013

Cal 20 - Taco Tuesdays

The first series in the Cal 20 - Taco Tuesdays will be contested on the following dates:

Tuesday, May 14th
Tuesday, May 21st
Tuesday, June 4th
Tuesday, June 11th

On Tuesday, May 7th, SYC will be hosting a one-design racing seminar presented by Eric Doyle of North Sails beginning at 18:00 in the Education Room.  Come out and hear Eric's thoughts on racing the Cal 20's and get his answers to your burning questions.

The Notice of Race and Electronic Entry Form are now on line.  Look behind the Cal 20 Fleet Tab!

Sunday, April 28, 2013

Newport to Ensenada 2013

On Friday, April 26th, eight boats from Shoreline Yacht Club joined approximately 200 additional boats from other clubs to make the annual race from Newport Beach, CA to Ensenada, Mexico.

Congratulations to Owen Provence and her all female crew on Moonlight Lady for taking fourth in the Cruz - Gen B Class - great job in bringing home the hardware for SYC, especially in your first N2E race! You have set a pretty high bar for 2014.

In addition to Owen and her crew, Shoreline was well represented by:

Dennis Ponsor on Airwaves (PHRF B Class)
Ed Stumpp on StumpyJ (PHRF D Class)
Paul Margis on Indigo (PHRF A Class)
Stephen Ashley on Mille Onde (PHRF E Class)
Bruce Davis on Blue Goose (Cruz Non-spin Class)
Dan Paracchini on X-Pletive (PHRF B Class)
Larry Malmberg on Hassle (PHRF D Class)

Congratulations to Dennis Ponsor and his crew on Airwaves for having the fastest corrected time for a Shoreline boat.  Look for his name on the perpetual trophy that sits above the fireplace in the SYC Burgee Bar.

Tuesday, April 9, 2013

April Fool's Race Recap

On Saturday, April 6th, SYC hosted the April Fool's Race, which saw 11 boats come out and compete.

Congratulations to Don Weimer on Bilbo Baggins for taking the win in the PHRF class and Ross Hendricks on Windhaven for taking the win in the Non-spin class.  Complete results can be seen under the PHRF tab.

Thanks also go out to the Race Committee for this event, Ethan Reed (PRO), Mike Schachter (Committee Boat), Owen Provence, Jeff Dwyer and John Sears.